On Reading, Revolution, and the Classics

with Elaine Castillo

Genres: Reading


Open to all levels

1 Session

Start Date: March 17, 2023
End Date: March 17, 2023
Day of Week: Friday
Time: 10:00 am - 1:00 pm PT
Capacity: 0 seat
Member Price: $135.00
General Price: $150.00

You must register to use the waitlist feature. Please login or create an account

How can we approach the classics in ways that are novel, galvanizing, and reparative in a contemporary culture awash in misinformation and ideological rhetoric? How does our reading practice relate to notions of resistance or revolution? We’ll discuss Homer, Austen, Cinderella, images of the American West as envisioned by people outside of it, Gwendolyn Brooks, translation, dictatorship, and what it means to be a reader in the world. The class consists of a short lecture, with the rest of the time devoted to a generative writing workshop and discussion.

Note: The format of this class has changed from in-person to online.

Registration dates:

December 5: Scholarship Donation Day (Learn more.)

December 6: Member registration opens

December 13: General registration opens

Elaine Castillo

Elaine Castillo

Elaine Castillo is the author of the widely acclaimed debut novel, America is Not the Heart (Viking, 2018), named one of the best books of the year by NPR, The Boston Globe, Kirkus Reviews, the New York Public Library, and many others. In August 2022, Viking will publish her first work of nonfiction, How to Read Now, on the politics and ethics of our reading culture. Her writing has appeared in Freeman’s, The Rumpus, Lit Hub, Taste Magazine, Electric Literature, and elsewhere. Her short film, A Mukkbang, was commissioned by the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art’s Open Space. She is a VONA Foundation Fellow, and was a three-time recipient of the Roselyn Schneider Eisner Prize for prose while at UC Berkeley. She has also been nominated for the Pat Kavanagh Award, a Pushcart Prize, and a Gatewood Prize.

Most classes are offered at a general and member tuition rates based on instruction hours, with Hugo House members receiving a 10% discount on classes fewer than six sessions.

Early bird discounts are available during the first two weeks of registration and apply to both general and member tuition rates.

To help provide financial accessibility to our class offerings, some classes each quarter are offered with a sliding-scale tuition model, allowing students to pay what they can for the class. For these classes, tuition increments starting at $5 and going up to 125% of the standard pricing will be listed on the page.

Hugo House will only process refund requests that are submitted 5 business days or more before the class start date. To request a refund, log in to your account, go to “My Account,” select the “Orders” tab on the left-hand side, click the appropriate order, and request a refund for your specific class. Administrative fees apply. Please see our full refund policy here.

We do not record classes. However, an exception if a student has specific access needs.

We encourage students to only sign up for classes that fit with their schedule.   

We do not tolerate racist, sexist, homophobic, ableist, transphobic or any other oppressive behaviors, regardless of who commits them. Please check out our full community guidelines by clicking here. If an instance of community guidelines are violated and not resolved within the classroom, students may let us know by filling out the student incident report.

Classes may be cancelled if less than the minimum number of students are enrolled within ten days before the class start date. If Hugo House needs to cancel a class for any reason, students can choose between receiving a full credit toward future classes or full refund.

Make a Donation

Donations made throughout the year help fund our programs and operations.