General registration for summer quarter PART 2 classes is OPEN! Find your perfect writing class here☀️

Loading Events

Programs & Events


  • This event has passed.
  • Date: February 28
  • Time: 4:00pm - 6:00pm PT

AWP Offsite Event: Red Hen Press Reading

Celebrate Red Hen authors Douglas Kearney, Lisa C. Krueger, Peggy Shumaker, Brynn Saito, Tess Taylor, Jim Tilley, and William Trowbridge will read in commemoration of our 20th anniversary!

Poet/performer/librettist Douglas Kearney’s first full-length collection of poems, Fear, Some, was published in 2006 by Red Hen Press. Red Hen will also publish Kearney’s third collection, Patter in 2014. His second, The Black Automaton (Fence Books, 2009), was Catherine Wagner’s selection for the National Poetry Series. It was also a finalist for the Pen Center USA Award in 2010. His newest chapbook, SkinMag (A5/Deadly Chaps) is now available. He has received a Whiting Writers Award, a Coat Hanger award and fellowships at Idyllwild and Cave Canem. Raised in Altadena, CA, he lives with his family in California’s Santa Clarita Valley. He teaches at CalArts.

Lisa C. Krueger is a poet and psychologist. She is the author of three books of poetry, Rebloom (Red Hen Press, 2004), animals the size of dreams (Red Hen Press, 2009), and most recently, Talisman (Red Hen Press, 2014). Her poetry has appeared in numerous journals, including Atlanta Review and Prairie Schooner Review. She has written a series of interactive journals related to psychology and creativity. She maintains a private therapy practice focused on women’s issues, health psychology, writing therapy, and the role of creativity in wellness. She lives in Pasadena.

Peggy Shumaker is former Alaska State Writer Laureate. Her previous book of poems is Gnawed Bones (Red Hen Press, 2010). Her lyrical memoir is Just Breathe Normally (University of Nebraska Press, 2009). Toucan Nest (Red Hen Press, 2013), her most recent collection, grew from an eco-arts writing workshop in Costa Rica. Professor emerita from University of Alaska Fairbanks, Shumaker teaches in the Rainier Writing Workshop. She is founding editor of Boreal Books, publishers of fine art and literature from Alaska. She edits the Alaska Literary Series at University of Alaska Press. Please visit her website at

Brynn Saito is the author of the poetry collection The Palace of Contemplating Departure (Red Hen Press, 2013), winner of Red Hen Press’s 2011 Benjamin Saltman Poetry Award. Her poetry has been anthologized by Helen Vendler and Ishmael Reed; it has also appeared in Ninth Letter, Hayden’s Ferry Review, Pleiades, and Drunken Boat, among other journals. Brynn was born in the Central Valley of California to a Korean American mother and a Japanese American father. She received an MFA in creative writing from Sarah Lawrence College and an MA in religious studies from NYU. Currently, Brynn lives in the Bay Area and teaches in San Francisco.

Jim Tilley earned a doctorate in Physics from Harvard and worked on Wall Street for twenty years. His first collection of poetry, In Confidence, was published by Red Hen Press in 2011. His recent poems have been published in several top literary journals, including Virginia Quarterly Review, The Southern Review, Southwest Review, and Alaska Quarterly Review. He has won the Sycamore Review’s Wabash Prize for Poetry, the New England Poetry Club’s Firman Houghton Award, and an International Publication Award from Atlanta Review. Red Hen Press will publish Cruising at Sixty to Seventy in 2014.

William Trowbridge is the Poet Laureate of Missouri. He is the author of the poetry collections Ship of Fool, Enter Dark Stranger, O Paradise, Flickers, and The Complete Book of Kong and the chapbooks The Packing House Cantata, The Four Seasons, and The Book of Kong. His poems have appeared in such periodicals as The Gettysburg Review, The Iowa Review, The Georgia Review, Poetry, Boulevard, and New Letters. He lives in the Kansas City area and teaches in the University of Nebraska low-residency MFA in writing program. Red Hen Press will release Put This On, Please: New and Selected Poems in 2014.